Springe direkt zu Inhalt

GUMELAB in the press

OnePager of the CAPAZ Institute, August 2022

Our cooperation partners of the German-Colombian Peace Institute - CAPAZ present research topics around Colombian peace research in an informative and illustrative way in the format OnePager. The goal is to contribute to educational and scientific diplomacy and to bring the state of research and issues closer to journalists, academics, students, and decision makers. The GUMELAB project kicked off this series and wrote the first article entitled: “Telenovelas and series: the new history teachers”. The article deals with the opportunities and challenges of using telenovelas and series to teach history, as well as with the reception of Colombian and Chilean telenovelas and series in national and international contexts. GUMELAB was able to share first experiences of the field research by organizing screenings with different actors, such as exiled Chileans in the U.S. and human rights lawyers in Colombia, but also students in Chile.

Interview with the organization Hola Cultura in Washington D.C., May 2022

Hannah Müssemann was invited by the organization Hola Cultura in Washington D.C. to present the GUMELAB project and give an interview for Hola Cultura's Arts & Humanities Storytelling Group. The nonprofit organization works to preserve and spread Latinx culture in the Washington D.C. area.

Vox Populi of the German-Colombian Peace Institute - CAPAZ, May 2022

We participated in this project of our partners, the German-Colombian Peace Institute - CAPAZ. Mónika Contreras Saiz, our project manager, and Julián Román, Colombian actor and activist, answered the questions of citizens about the relationship between telenovelas, memory and historical education that has emerged in Colombia thanks to the entertainment industry.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

GUMELAB in der Presse

OnePager des Instituto CAPAZ, August 2022

Unsere Kooperationspartner des Deutsch-Kolumbianischen Friedensinstitut- CAPAZ stellen in dem Format OnePager Forschungsthemen rund um die kolumbianische Friedensforschung auf informative und illustrative dar. Ziel ist es, einen Beitrag zur Bildungs- und Wissenschaftsdiplomatie zu leisten und den Forschungsstand und Themen Journalist:innen, Akademiker:innen, Studierende und Entscheidungsträger:innen näher zu bringen. Das GUMELAB Projekt bildete den Auftakt für diese Reihe und schrieb den ersten Beitrag mit dem Titel: „Telenovelas und Serien: die neuen Geschichstlehrer:innen“. Dabei geht es zum einen um die Chancen und Herausforderungen, Telenovelas und Serien für die Vermittlung von Geschichte einzusetzen sowie um die Rezeption kolumbianischer und chilenischer Telenovelas und Serien im nationalen und internationalen Raum. GUMELAB konnte erste Erfahrungen der Feldforschung teilen, in dem Screenings mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren organisiert wurden, wie Exilchilen:innen in den USA und Menschenrechtsanwält:innen in Kolumbien, aber auch Schüler:innen in Chile.

Interview mit der Organisation Hola Cultura in Washington D.C., Mai 2022

Hannah Müssemann wurde von der Organisation Hola Cultura in Washington D.C. eingeladen, das GUMELAB Projekt vorzustellen und ein Interview für die Hola Cultura's Arts & Humanities Storytelling Group zu geben. Die gemeinnützige Organisation setzt sich für die Erhaltung und Verbreitung der Latinx-Kultur im Raum Washington D.C. ein.

Vox Populi des Deutsch-Kolumbianischen Friedensinstitut- CAPAZ, Mai 2022

Wir haben uns an diesem Projekt unserer Partner, dem Deutsch-Kolumbianischen Friedensinstitut- CAPAZ, beteiligt. Mónika Contreras Saiz, unsere Projektleiterin, und Julián Román, kolumbianischer Schauspieler und Aktivist, beantworteten die Fragen der Bürger:innen über die Beziehung zwischen Telenovelas, Erinnerung und historischer Bildung, die in Kolumbien dank der Unterhaltungsindustrie entstanden ist.