Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Colosio

The promotional poster for the minisieries Crime Diaries: The Candidate shows part of Luis Donaldo Colosio (Jorge A. Jimenez)’s face. The story centers around his assassination.

The promotional poster for the minisieries Crime Diaries: The Candidate shows part of Luis Donaldo Colosio (Jorge A. Jimenez)’s face. The story centers around his assassination.

President Salinas (Ari Brickman) watches the news report the death of presidential candidate Colosio and cleans his hands. Did he have something to do with his murder? (Screenshot from Crime Diaries: The Candidate)

President Salinas (Ari Brickman) watches the news report the death of presidential candidate Colosio and cleans his hands. Did he have something to do with his murder? (Screenshot from Crime Diaries: The Candidate)

Crime Diaries: The Candidate (originally Colosio: Historia de un crimen) is a Mexican miniseries on the streaming platform Netflix. It centres around the assassination of 1994 presidential candidate Luis Donaldo Colosio Murietta. The story follows several people on their search for answers: Colosio’s terminally ill widow Diana Laura as well as Miguel Montes García, a prosecutor appointed by the government to investigate the case, and local police officer José Federico Bénitez López. The series also shows the fate of the suspected assassin Mario Aburto Martínez.

All these characters are based on real persons. The show emphasises this by including original news footage from the 1990s. Then-president Carlos Salinas de Gortari and his cabinet also feature heavily in the show. The show goes to great lengths to make the actors resemble their real-life counterparts. Unlike for example in Narcos: Mexico, the characters’ names are never changed or omitted.

While the show casts doubt on the official explanation of Colosio’s death, it does not present the audience with a definitive answer. But the corruption within the PRI government under Salinas is a central topic. The audience is invited to remember the scandal and to question the official version of events. This does not mean that the show presents each character neutrally: The sympathetic characters are Diana Laura and Bénitez as well as Colosio himself. He is portrayed as an active fighter against corruption and for democracy. These characters do not show any real character flaws and always seem to make morally right decisions. Meanwhile, Salinas and his cabinet appear scheming and power hungry. The prosecutor Montes ultimately makes important evidence disappear in order to wrap up the case the way Salinas demanded. The audience learns nothing of those characters’ motivations.

The series is one of GUMELAB's case studies. It is suitable for analysis because it deals with political violence and corruption in recent Mexican history. Even though parts of the narrative are fictionalised, the show claims historical authenticity and seeks to educate about history. Talking about the show leads audience members to share their own memory of the assassination and their own interpretation of events.

Crime Diaries is the first television show on the topic of Colosio. A feature film was released in 2012 and a movie documentary was released on Netflix along with Crime Diaries. The miniseries is the first season of a new true crime show on Netflix. The highly controversial and political case was likely chosen because it promised to generate media attention for the show. Crime Diaries was released the day before the 25th anniversary of the assassination. At this point, Colosio had already become a relevant topic in Mexico again: The files concerning his case were released to the public in early 2019.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Colosio

Das Werbeplakat für die Miniserie Historia de un Crimen: Colosio zeigt einen Teilausschnitt des Gesichts von Luis Donaldo Colosio (Jorge A. Jimenez). Seine Ermordung steht im Zentrum der Handlung.

Das Werbeplakat für die Miniserie Historia de un Crimen: Colosio zeigt einen Teilausschnitt des Gesichts von Luis Donaldo Colosio (Jorge A. Jimenez). Seine Ermordung steht im Zentrum der Handlung.

Präsident Salinas (Ari Brickman) verfolgt den Tod des Präsidentschaftskandidaten Colosio im Fernsehen und säubert sich die Hände. Hatte er etwas mit dem Mord zu tun? (Ausschnitt aus Historia de un Crimen: Colosio)

Präsident Salinas (Ari Brickman) verfolgt den Tod des Präsidentschaftskandidaten Colosio im Fernsehen und säubert sich die Hände. Hatte er etwas mit dem Mord zu tun? (Ausschnitt aus Historia de un Crimen: Colosio)

Colosio: Historia de un crimen (engl.: Crime Diaries: The Candidate; dt.: Kriminalfall: Colosio) ist eine mexikanische Miniserie des Streamingdienstes Netflix. Sie behandelt den Mord an Präsidentschaftskandidat Luis Donaldo Colosio Murietta 1994. Die Serie folgt verschiedenen Personen auf der Suche nach Antworten: Colosios krebskranker Witwe Diana Laura, dem von der Regierung mit dem Fall betrauten Staatsanwalt Miguel Montes García und dem Polizisten José Federico Bénitez López. Außerdem wird das Schicksal des mutmaßlichen Täters Mario Aburto Martínez beleuchtet. Diana Laura und Bénitez zweifeln an seiner Schuld.

All diese Figuren entsprechen realen Personen. Das wird durch Einschnitte von Originalaufnahmen aus den 90er Jahren immer wieder unterstrichen. Auch Carlos Salinas de Gortari – zum Zeitpunkt des Mordes der amtierende Präsident Mexicos – und dessen Kabinett treten in Erscheinung. Sie alle werden in der Serie deutlich erkennbar gemacht: Es wurde sichtlich Wert daraufgelegt, das Aussehen der realen Personen zu imitieren. Im Gegensatz etwa zu Narcos: Mexico werden außerdem alle Figuren bei ihren realen Namen genannt.

Die Serie zweifelt zwar die offizielle Erklärung von Colosios Tod immer wieder an, stellt aber keine klare Gegenthese auf. Die Korruption der PRI-Regierung um Salinas ist jedoch ein zentrales Motiv der Serie. Die Zuschauer:innen werden aufgefordert, sich an den Skandal zurückzuerinnern und die offizielle Version zu hinterfragen. Dabei ergreift die Serie sehr deutlich Partei für bestimmte Figuren: Diana Laura und Bénitez und der gegen Korruption und Parteidiktatur agitierende Colosio sind die Helden dieser Geschichte. Sie zeigen keinerlei unsympathische oder negative Charaktereigenschaften und treffen stets moralische Entscheidungen. Salinas und sein Kabinett erscheinen dagegen machthungrig und intrigant. Der Staatsanwalt Montes unterschlägt letztlich wichtige Beweismittel, um den Fall nach den Wünschen des Präsidenten zum Abschluss zu bringen. Die Zuschauer:innen erfahren nichts über die Beweggründe dieser Figuren.

Die Serie eignet sich als Fallstudie von GUMELAB, da sie Themen der politischen Gewalt und Korruption in der jüngeren Geschichte Mexikos beleuchtet. Dabei erhebt sie, auch wenn Teile der Handlung fiktiv sind, einen Anspruch auf historische Authentizität und möchte über Geschichte informieren. Im Gespräch über die Serie tauschen sich Zuschauer:innen über ihre eigenen Erinnerungen an den Mord und ihre eigenen Deutungen des Geschehens aus.

Bei Colosio handelt es sich um die erste Serie über den Mord. Als Spielfilm wurde der Fall bereits  2012 verfilmt. Zeitgleich mit Colosio erschien auch ein Dokumentarfilm auf Netflix. Der Streaming-Dienst leitet mit den acht Folgen über Colosios Ermordung eine neue True-Crime-Serie ein. Von der Wahl dieses sehr umstrittenen und hochpolitischen Falls versprach sich die Firma sicherlich zusätzliche Medienaufmerksamkeit für die geplante Serie. Sie wurde einen Tag vor Colosios 25. Todestag veröffentlicht. Kurz zuvor waren außerdem die Akten des Falles freigegeben worden. Dadurch war Colosios Mord bereits wieder ins Augenmerk der mexikanischen Öffentlichkeit gerückt.