Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Cooperation partners

Brasil

Roberto Abdala Júnior

Roberto Abdala Júnior

Roberto Abdala Júnior is professor at the Faculty of History of the Universidad Federal de Goiás – UFG (Goiânia - Brazil). His research focuses on the relationship between audiovisual narratives and history/reality.

In this field, he is especially interested in the possibilities of teaching and learning history through audiovisual narratives. He is currently one of the coordinators of the Núcleo de Estudios de Usos Públicos da História - NUH.

His favourite miniseries is Anos rebeldes (Brazil, 1992).

Thiago Lima Nicodemo

Thiago Lima Nicodemo

Thiago Lima Nicodemo is General Director of the Archive of the State of São Paulo, professor of Theory of History at the State University of Campinas - UNICAMP (Campinas, Brazil) and is responsible for the Center for Digital Humanities of the same institution. He studies new forms of archiving and analyzing digital historical information, as well as digital historical documents. Further, he investigates problems of intellectual history and Latin American historiography.

He likes Breaking Bad (USA, 2008-2013) and sci-fi series like The X-Files (USA, 1993-2002)..

Chile

Lorena Antezana Barrios

Lorena Antezana Barrios

Lorena Antezana Barrios is associate professor at the Institute of Communication and Image at the University of Chile in Santiago. She researches reception and critical media consumption, education, and memory on television from a gender perspective.

The first telenovela she saw was Baila conmigo (Brazil, 1981).

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda is PhD student in Communication Sciences at the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, research associate at the Institute of Communication and Image at the University of Chile in Santiago. He is a fellow at the Centre for Studies on Conflict and Social Cohesion (COES). He is currently researching representations of violence in Chilean fictions set during the dictatorship and in the present

His favorite series are Sorjonen (Finland, 2016-2019) and Peaky Blinders (UK, 2013-present).

Claudia Bossay

Claudia Bossay

Claudia Bossay works as historian at the University Diego Portales (Chile), holds a master’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies and a PhD in Film Studies from the Queen's University Belfast in Northern Ireland. She is an assistant professor at the University of Chile in Santiago.

She loves the bicentenary series Cartas de mujer (Chile, Chilevisión, 2010).

Claudia Lagos Lira

Claudia Lagos Lira

Claudia Lagos Lira holds a PhD in Media and Communication (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), a master’s degree in Gender Studies and Social Sciences. She is a journalist, graduate in Social Communication and has a diploma in Communication and Public Policy. She is an Assistant Professor at the University of Chile in Santiago.

Her favourite telenovela is Tieta de Agreste (Brazil, 1989).

Consuelo Ábalos

Consuelo Ábalos

Consuelo Ábalos is a journalist at the University of Chile, has a master's degree in Film and Audiovisual Studies from the University Lumière Lyon 2, and a master's in Theory and Practice of Creative Documentary at the Autonomous University of Barcelona. She's an academic at the Central University Central of Chile in Santiago.

Her favourite series is The Killing (Denmark, 2007).

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra is a journalist, has a degree in Social Sciences and a diploma in Social Communication research. He is the author of several books and articles on the relationship between communication, mass culture and popular culture.  (History of Chilean journalism, cinema and TV, football, and sports). He is a professor at the University of Chile in Santiago.

His favourite telenovela is La Tormenta (Mexico, 1967)

Germany

Karen Genschow

Karen Genschow

Dr. Karen Genschow is a lecturer in Romance literature, Latin American studies and didactics at the Goethe University in Frankfurt, Germany. She researches telenovelas and series in connection with collective memory (especially in the Cono Sur).

The series that has most recently made a lasting impression on her is L’Effondrement (France, 2019).

Colombia

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras is professor and director of the Institute of Physics and of the Theoretical Physics and Applied Mathematics Group (GTFyMA) at the University of Antioquia (Medellín). Among his many research topics are the design and development of statistical analyses in the human and social sciences, the use of complex systems tools, and the development of models for Natural Language Processing (NLP).

Although he does not watch television, his favourite series is Sliders (USA, 1995).

Marco A. Erazo

Marco A. Erazo

Marco A. Erazo is a researcher in data science and Natural Language Processing for the GUMELAB project. He is currently working on quantum computing and artificial intelligence and is further interested in their practical use in social and economic disciplines.

The first ten seasons of the Simpsons (USA, 1990-2000), he says with a smile, are “his religion.”

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García is a PhD student in History at the Institute for Latin American Studies at the Free University of Berlin. Her research and teaching focuses on the areas of violence and armed conflict, nonviolent conflict transformation, political culture, and peacebuilding pedagogy with civil society organisations. She has experience in social research through data analysis and digital methods.

One of her favourite telenovelas is Cuando quiero llorar no lloro (better known as The Victorinos, Colombia, 1991).

Heisman Arcila

Heisman Arcila

Heisman Arcila is a master’s student in Physics at the University of Antioquia (Medellín, Colombia) and works as a data science team leader in Natural Language Processing (NLP) at Guane Enterprises. His main interest is the application of NLP techniques, and physics in general to socio-economic problems.

He does not usually watch telenovelas but loves historical series such as Da Vinci’s Demons (USA, 2013-2015) or Rome (USA, 2005-2007).

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra is physicist and co-director of the Theoretical Physics and Applied Mathematics Group (GTFyMA) at the University of Antioquia (Medellín, Colombia). Joseph is a software developer, specifically in the areas of data engineering, machine learning and backend development.
He is co-founder and leader of the Data Science & Machine Learning team at Guane Enterprises, a technology-based company dedicated to human-centric artificial intelligence.

His favourite series are Breaking Bad (USA, 2008) and Dark (Germany 2017).

Carolina Galindo Hernández

Carolina Galindo Hernández

Carolina Galindo Hernández is professor at the School of Human Sciences of the University of Rosario in Bogotá (Colombia). Her research and teaching interests focus on the areas of democratization processes, comparative politics in Latin America (especially in the Andean Region), state-civil society relations, citizenship, political sociology, and political philosophy.

One of her favourite telenovelas is Tiempos Difíciles (Colombia, 1997).

Tatjana Louis

Tatjana Louis

Tatjana Louis is associate professor and director of the Department of Languages and Culture.  She is a historian, and her research focuses on the development of historical consciousness, the creation of historical meaning, and the teaching and learning of history.

Her favourite series is Weißensee (Germany, 2010).

USA

Simone Lässig

Simone Lässig

Prof. Dr. Simone Lässig is the Director of the German Historical Institute in Washington D.C./USA. She is a cultural and social historian and works on educational media, memory cultures and memory politics. She is particularly interested in digital history.

Her favourite series is Shitsel (Israel, 3 seasons, 2013-2021).

Mario Peters

Mario Peters

Dr. Mario Peters is a research fellow in American and Transatlantic History at the German Historical Institute in Washington. He is particularly interested in the history of mobility and transport infrastructures, the Americas in a global context, and environmental history.

His current favourite series is TURN - Washington's Spies (USA, 2014-2017).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Kooperationspartner

Brasilien

Roberto Abdala Júnior

Roberto Abdala Júnior

Roberto Abdala Júnior ist Professor an der Fakultät für Geschichte der Universidad Federal de Goiás - UFG (Goiânia - Brasilien). Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Beziehung zwischen audiovisuellen Erzählungen und Geschichte/Realität. In diesem Bereich interessiert er sich besonders für die Möglichkeiten des Lehrens und Lernens von Geschichte durch audiovisuelle Narrative. Derzeit ist er einer der Koordinatoren des Núcleo de Estudios de Usos Públicos da História - NUH.

Seine Lieblingsminiserie ist Anos rebeldes (Brasilien, 1992).

Thiago Lima Nicodemo

Thiago Lima Nicodemo

Thiago Lima Nicodemo ist Generaldirektor des Archivs des Bundesstaates São Paulo, Professor für Theorie der Geschichte an der Staatlichen Universität von Campinas - UNICAMP (Campinas, Brasilien) und verantwortlich für das Zentrum für digitale Geisteswissenschaften derselben Institution. Er beschäftigt sich mit neuen Formen der Archivierung, sowie mit der Analyse digitaler historischer Bestände. Ebenfalls befasst er sich mit Problemen der lateinamerikanischen Geistesgeschichte und Historiographie.

Er mag Science-Fiction-Serien wie The X-Files (USA, 1993-2002) und Breaking Bad (USA, 2008-2013).

Chile

Lorena Antezana Barrios

Lorena Antezana Barrios

Lorena Antezana Barrios ist Professorin am Institut für Kommunikation und Bild an der Universität von Chile. Sie forscht über die Rezeption und kritischen Medienkonsum, Bildung und Erinnerung im Fernsehen aus einer Genderperspektive.

Die erste Telenovela, die sie sah, war Baila conmigo (Brasilien, 1981).

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda

Juan Pablo Sánchez Sepúlveda ist Doktorand der Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Päpstliche Katholische Universität von Chile (PUC) und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Kommunikation und Bild an der Universität von Chile. Er ist Stipendiat am Zentrum für Studien zu Konflikt und sozialem Zusammenhalt (COES). Derzeit forscht er über Gewaltdarstellungen in chilenischen Fiktionen, die während der Diktatur und in der Gegenwart spielen.

Seine Lieblingsserien sind Sorjonen (Finnland, 2016-2019) und Peaky Blinders (Großbritannien, 2013-heute).

Claudia Bossay

Claudia Bossay

Claudia Bossay arbeitet als Historikerin an der Universität Diego Portales in Chile und hat einen M.A. in interdisziplinären Studien, sowie einen Doktortitel in Filmwissenschaften (Queen's Universität Belfast, Nordirland). Sie ist Assistenzprofessorin an der Universität von Chile.

Sie lobt die Zweihundertjahrfeier-Serie Cartas de mujer (Chile, Chilevisión, 2010).

Claudia Lagos Lira

Claudia Lagos Lira

Claudia Lagos Lira hat einen Doktortitel in Medien und Kommunikation (Universität von Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), einen Magister in Gender Studies und Sozialwissenschaften. Sie ist Journalistin, Hochschulabsolventin in sozialer Kommunikation und hat ein Diplom in Kommunikation und öffentlicher Politik. Sie ist Assistenzprofessorin an der Universität von Chile.

Ihre Lieblingstelenovela ist Tieta de Agreste (Brasilien, 1989).

Consuelo Ábalos

Consuelo Ábalos

Consuelo Ábalos ist Journalistin an der Universität von Chile. Sie hat einen Magister in Film- und audiovisuelle Studien an der Universität Lumière Lyon 2 und einen Master in Theorie und Praxis des kreativen Dokumentarfilms an der Autonomen Universität Barcelona. Sie arbeitet als Akademikerin an der Zentralen Universität von Chile.

Ihre Lieblingsserie ist The Killing (Dänemark, 2007).

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra

Eduardo Santa Cruz Achurra ist Journalist, hat einen Hochschulabschluss in Sozialwissenschaften und ein Diplom in sozialer Kommunikationsforschung. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher und Artikel zur Beziehung zwischen Kommunikation, Massenkultur und Populärkultur (Geschichte des chilenischen Journalismus, Kino und Fernsehen, Fußball und Sport). Er ist Professor an der Universität von Chile.

Seine Lieblingstelenovela ist La Tormenta (Mexiko, 1967)

Deutschland

Karen Genschow

Karen Genschow

Dr. Karen Genschow ist Dozentin für romanistische Literaturwissenschaft, Lateinamerikanistik und Didaktik an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt und forscht zu Telenovelas und Serien im Zusammenhang mit dem kollektiven Gedächtnis (insbesondere im Cono Sur).

Die Serie, die sie zuletzt nachhaltig beeindruckt hat, ist L’Effondrement (Frankreich, 2019).

Kolumbien

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras

Leonardo A. Pachón Contreras ist Professor und Direktor des Instituts für Physik und der Gruppe für Theoretische Physik und Angewandte Mathematik (GTFyMA) an der Universität von Antioquia (Medellín, Kolumbien). Zu seinen zahlreichen Forschungsthemen gehören der Entwurf und die Entwicklung statistischer Analysen in den Human- und Sozialwissenschaften, die Verwendung von Werkzeugen für komplexe Systeme und die Entwicklung von Natural Language Processing (NLP)-Modellen.

Obwohl er nicht fernsieht, ist seine Lieblingsserie Sliders (USA, 1995).

Marco A. Erazo

Marco A. Erazo

Marco A. Erazo ist Forscher in den Bereichen Datenwissenschaft Natural Language Processing im Rahmen des GUMELAB-Projekts. Er beschäftigt sich derzeit mit Quanteninformatik und künstlicher Intelligenz und interessiert sich für deren praktischen Einsatz in sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Disziplinen.

Die ersten zehn Staffeln von The Simpsons (USA, 1990-2000), sagt er mit einem Lächeln seien "seine Religion".

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García

Gicela Andrea Aguirre García ist Doktorandin der Geschichte am Lateinamerika-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihre Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit konzentriert sich auf die Bereiche Gewalt und bewaffnete Konflikte, gewaltfreie Konflikttransformation, politische Kultur und friedensfördernde Pädagogik mit Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft. Sie hat Erfahrung in der Sozialforschung mit Datenanalyse und digitalen Methoden.

Eine ihrer Lieblingstelenovelas ist Cuando quiero llorar no lloro (besser bekannt als Los Victorinos, Kolumbien, 1991).

Heisman Arcila

Heisman Arcila

Heisman Arcila ist Masterstudent der Physik an der Universität von Antioquia (Medellín, Kolumbien) und arbeitet als Data-Science-Teamleiter im Bereich Natural Language Processing (NLP) bei Guane Enterprises. Sein Hauptinteresse gilt der Anwendung von NLP-Techniken und der Physik im Allgemeinen auf sozioökonomische Probleme. 

Normalerweise schaut er keine Telenovelas, aber er liebt historische Serien wie Da Vinci's Demons (USA, 2013-2015) oder Rome (USA, 2005-2007).

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra

Joseph F. Vergel-Becerra ist Physiker und Co-Direktor der Gruppe für Theoretische Physik und Angewandte Mathematik (GTFyMA) an der Universität von Antioquia (Medellín, Kolumbien). Joseph ist Softwareentwickler, insbesondere in den Bereichen Datentechnik, maschinelles Lernen und Backend-Entwicklung. Er ist Mitbegründer und Leiter des Data Science & Machine Learning Teams bei guane enterprises, einem technologiebasierten Unternehmen, das sich der Entwicklung von künstlicher Intelligenz widmet, die den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Seine Lieblingsserien sind Breaking Bad (USA, 2008) und Dark (Deutschland, 2017).

Carolina Galindo Hernández

Carolina Galindo Hernández

Carolina Galindo Hernández ist Professorin an der Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften an der Universität von Rosario in Bogotá (Kolumbien). Ihre Forschungs- und Lehrinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Demokratisierung, vergleichende Politik in Lateinamerika (besonders in der Andenregion), Beziehungen zwischen Staat und Zivilgesellschaft, Staatsbürgerschaft, politische Soziologie und politische Philosophie. 

Eine ihrer Lieblingstelenovelas ist Tiempos Difíciles (Kolumbien, 1997)

Tatjana Louis

Tatjana Louis

Prof. Dr. Tatjana Louis ist Professorin und Leiterin der Abteilung für Sprachen und Kultur an der Universidad de los Andes in Bogotá (Kolumbien). Sie ist Historikerin. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung des Geschichtsbewusstseins, die Erzeugung von historischer Bedeutung sowie das Lehren und Lernen von Geschichte.

Ihre Lieblingsserie ist Weißensee (Deutschland, 2010)

USA

Simone Lässig

Simone Lässig

Prof. Dr. Simone Lässig ist die Direktorin des Deutschen Historischen Instituts in Washington D.C./USA. Sie ist Kultur- und Sozialhistorikerin und beschäftigt sich mit Bildungsmedien, Erinnerungskulturen und Erinnerungspolitik. Besonders interessiert sie digitale Geschichte.

Ihre Lieblingsserie ist: Shtisel (Israel, 3 Staffeln 2013-2021).

Mario Peters

Mario Peters

Dr. Mario Peters ist Research Fellow für Amerikanische und Transatlantische Geschichte am Deutschen Historischen Institut in Washington. Er interessiert sich insbesondere für die Geschichte von Mobilität und Verkehrsinfrastrukturen, die Amerikas im globalen Kontext und Umweltgeschichte.

Seine aktuelle Lieblingsserie ist TURN – Washington’s Spies (USA, 2014-2017).