Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Das Team

Stefan

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rinke

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rinke is the project leader of GUMELAB. He researches Latin American History and gives lectures as well as seminars at the Institute for Latin American Studies at the Freie Unversität Berlin. He is especially interested in Latin America’s role in Global History and in questions of cultural globalization.

His favorite series is Borgen (Denmark, 2010-2013).

Mónika

Dr. Mónika Contreras Saiz

Dr. Mónika Contreras Saiz is the project leader of GUMELAB. Since 2012, she has been researching about how people learn the past. Her focus is primarily on how history and memory are transmitted through telenovelas, series, and comics, and on the use of digital humanities methods to investigate how they are received.

She fondly remembers the first telenovela she ever saw: Los Cuervos (Colombia, 1984).

Holly

Holle Meding, M.A

Holle Meding works as a pre-doctoral researcher on the GUMELAB project. Her research encompasses the influence of state and market interests on historical narratives in TV series, as well as the transmission of historical knowledge and political values. Her interest is on TV series about the Chilean military dictatorship.

One of her favorite series is the Finnish-Chilean production Invisible Heroes (Finland/Chile, 2019).

Hannah

Hannah Müssemann, M.A.

Hannah Müssemann works as a pre-doctoral researcher on the GUMELAB project. Her primary concern is the reception of telenovelas and series in the Latin American diaspora in the USA. She is particularly interested in the transfer of memory imagery.

Her favorite series is Friends (USA, 1994-2004).

Renato 2

Renato Llévenes Gac 

Renato Llévenes Gac works as a student assistant on the GUMELAB project. His main academic interests are the history of the press in Middle/Eastern European socialist states, as well Latin America’s recent history, memory studies and labor movement(s).

His favorite series are the early seasons of The Simpsons (USA, 1989-1997).

Camila

Camila Sánchez Nocua 

Camila Sánchez Nocua works as a student assistant on the GUMELAB project. She is interested in the representations of Latin American society and their narratives in Latin American films, especially in Colombian films.

Her favorite series is Gilmore Girls (USA, 2000-2007).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Das Team

Stefan

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rinke

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rinke ist der Projektleiter von GUMELAB. Er erforscht lateinamerikanische Geschichte und gibt Seminare und Vorlesungen im Lateinamerika Institut der Freien Universität Berlin. Er interessiert sich besonders für Lateinamerika in der Globalgeschichte und Fragen der kulturellen Globalisierung.

Seine Lieblingsserie ist Borgen (Dänemark, 2010-2013).

Mónika

Dr. Mónika Contreras Saiz

Dr. Mónika Contreras Saiz ist die Projektleiterin von GUMELAB. Seit 2012 erforscht sie, wie Menschen über die Vergangenheit lernen. Sie hat sich insbesondere mit der Vermittlung von Geschichte und Erinnerung durch Telenovelas, Serien und Comics beschäftigt und deren Rezeption mit den Methoden der Digital Humanities untersucht.

Sie erinnert sich gerne an die erste Telenovela, die sie gesehen hat: Los Cuervos (Kolumbien, 1984).

Holly

Holle Meding, M.A.

Holle Meding arbeitet als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Projekt GUMELAB und forscht über die Einflussnahme von Staat und Markt auf historische Narrative im Serienformat sowie über die Vermittlung von Geschichte und politischen Werten. Ihr Fokus liegt dabei auf Serien über die chilenische Militärdiktatur.

Eine ihrer Lieblingsserie ist die finnisch-chilenische Produktion Invisible Heroes (Finnland/Chile, 2019).

Hannah

Hannah Müssemann, M.A.

Hannah Müssemann arbeitet als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Projekt GUMELAB und forscht zur Rezeption von Telenovelas und Serien in der lateinamerikanischen Diaspora in den USA. Sie interessiert sich dabei besonders für die transnationale Vermittlung von Erinnerungsbildern.

Ihre Lieblingsserie ist Friends (USA, 1994-2004).

Renato 2

Renato Llévenes Gac 

Renato Llévenes Gac arbeitet als studentische Hilfskraft im Projekt GUMELAB. Seine akademischen Interessen sind die Geschichte der Presse in den mittel-/osteuropäischen sozialistischen Staaten, sowie die neueste Geschichte Lateinamerikas, Erinnerungsforschung und Arbeiter:innenbewegung(en).

Seine Lieblingsserie sind die frühen Staffeln von The Simpsons (USA, 1989-1997).

Camila

Camila Sánchez Nocua 

Camila Sánchez Nocua arbeitet als studentische Hilfskraft im Projekt GUMELAB. Sie interessiert sich für die Darstellungen der lateinamerikanischen Gesellschaft und ihre Narrativen in lateinamerikanischen Filmen, insbesondere in kolumbianischen Filmen.

Ihre Lieblingsserie ist Gilmore Girls (USA, 2000-2007)